Madeline Symonds Middle School

Staff Directory

To contact a staff member, please dial (902) 832-2300, plus the extension listed below

Communication between home and school is extremely important. Calls and emails sent to staff members will be returned within two business days.

Teaching Staff

Name Role / Department Phone Email Online
Wurzer-Davison, Kim Tech Ed Support kwurzer-davison@hrce.ca
Williams, Keshena Grade 8 Core French and Social Studies / Grade 8 French Immersion Healthy Living keshena.williams@hrce.ca
Veinotte, Mary Grade 6 - 9 Phys Ed mveinotte@hrce.ca
Thibeau, Becky Grade 6 Teacher rebecca.thibeau@hrce.ca
Shaw, Beth Grade 7 and 8 Family Studies ext. 725-1129 bshaw@hrce.ca Website
Sanford, Amanda Gr 8 Math / Science / Healthy Living ext. 725-1249 amanda.sanford@hrce.ca
Rykunyk Mackay, Devin Grade 9 French Language Arts / Citizenship / Core French devin.rykunyk-mackay@hrce.ca
Ryan, Jason Grade 8 Imm Science Grade 9 Imm Science/Healthy Living and Core French jason.ryan@hrce.ca
Ross, Steven Grade 7 French Immersion Math / Science / Healthy Living Grade 8 French Immersion Science ext. 725-1194 sross@hrce.ca
Pardy, Brian Grade 7 Math / Science / Healthy Living ext. 725-1247 bpardy@hrce.ca Website
Murray, Ken Grade 7 English Language Arts / Student Support Teacher ext. 725-1175 murrayk@hrce.ca Website
Matheson, Lindsay Grade 7 French Language Arts and Immersion Social Studies ext. 725-1192 Lindsay.Matheson@hrce.ca
MacMillan, Kenneth Grade 8 Math / Science / Healthy Living Grade 9 Science kenneth.macmillan@hrce.ca
MacDonald, Lindsey Grade 6 Teacher ext. 725-1007 lindsey.macdonald@hrce.ca Website
Luff, Michelle Grade 7 French Immersion Math / Science / Healthy Living ext. 725-1250 mluff@hrce.ca Website
Leslie, Donni Grade 9 English Language Arts ext. 725-1262 dleslie@hrce.ca
Lerette, Tim Grade 7 English Language Arts and Social Studies ext. 725-1257 tlerette@hrce.ca Website
Leblanc, Line Grade 9 French Immersion Math ext. 725-1261 leblancl@hrce.ca Website
Leader, Ali Grade 7 French Language Arts and Immersion Social Studies / Grade 8 Immersion Social Studies ext. 725-1173 Ali.Leader@hrce.ca Website
LaPlante, Bryan Grade 6 Music blaplante@hrce.ca
Landry, Matthew Grade 7 and 9 Technology Education ext. 725-1229 mlandry@hrce.ca Website
Twitter
Kidd, Tonya Grade 6 - 9 Instrumental Music / Grade 8 Social Studies ext. 725-1164 tkidd@hrce.ca Website
Hobin, Bernadette Grade 7 Math / Science / Healthy Living ext. 725-1258 bhobin@hrce.ca
Hewitt, Kiera Grade 7 - 9 Phys Ed ext. 725-1141
Hargreaves, Wendy Grade 6 ext. 725-1253 whargreaves@hrce.ca Website
Hare, Stephen Grade 9 French Language Arts / Citizenship / Healthy Living share@hrce.ca
Halley, Shannon Grade 6 French Immersion ext. 725-1005
Gillis, Stephanie Grade 6 - 9 Phys Ed and Grade 9 Core French ext. 725-1265 stephanie.gillis@hrce.ca
Gallant, Kora Lee Grade 8 French Immersion Math and Science ext. 725-1186 kgallant@hrce.ca
Feener, Kelsey Grade 6 and 7 English Language Arts kelsey.feener@hrce.ca
Doucet, Heidi Grade 6 - 9 Phys Ed / 9 Healthy Living 902-832-2300 hdoucet@hrce.ca
Detchevery, Danielle Grade 6 and 7 Core French ddetchevery@hrce.ca
Demone, Keith Grade 9 Math and Science kdemone@hrce.ca
Dehmel, Tracey Grade 8 English Language Arts tdehmel@hrce.ca
Crowell, Dara Grade 9 English Language Arts / Citizenship / Healthy Living dara.crowell@hrce.ca
Connors, Derrick Grade 6 French Immersion ext. 725-1006 dconnors@hrce.ca Website
Colford, Meaghan Gr 8 French Language Arts / Social Studies ext. 725-1172 mcolford@hrce.ca Website
Chandler, Lesley Grade 8 and 9 Visual Arts ext. 725-1164 ChandlerL@hrce.ca Website
Caldwell, Michelle Grade 7 Science and Healthy Living / Grade 8 Science and Healthy Living mcaldwell@hrce.ca
Borkowski, Kelly Grade 7 English / Grade 8 English and Social Studies / Grade 8 English Language Arts (Immersion) kborkowski@hrce.ca
Bobbitt, Jackie Gr 9 Math and Science ext. 7251195 jbobbitt@hrce.ca
Binder, Karen Gr 9 English and Citizenship ext. 7251192 kbinder@hrce.ca Twitter

Support Staff

Name Role / Department Phone Email Online
Turner, Vanessa Learning Center Teacher ext. 725-1178 VTurner@hrce.ca
Taylor, Siobhan Educational Program Assistant siobhan.taylor@hrce.ca
Tate, Jennifer Speech Language Pathologist Jennifer.Tate@hrce.ca
Stone, Cheryl Educational Prograam Assistant cstone@hrce.ca
Smith, Emma SchoolsPlus Community Outreach Worker (902) 399 8326 emma.smith@hrce.ca
Richardson, Rebecca Educational Program Assisant rebecca.richardson@hrce.ca
Pedvis, Cindy School Social Worker 902-430-4713 cpedvis@hrce.ca
Milner, Hani Educational Program Assistant hani.milner@hrce.ca
Lewis, Rodney Educational Program Assistant Rodney.lewis@hrce.ca
Hickey, Trish resource Teacher Trish.Hickey@hrce.ca
Hamblen, Angela Resource / French Immersion Resource Teacher ext. 7251234 ahamblen@hrce.ca
Evans, Hilary Educational Program Assistant hilary.evans@hrce.ca
Edmunds, Renee Education Program Assistant 80% ext. 725-1178 REdmunds@hrce.ca
Critchell, Judith Educational Program Assistant 80% ext. 725-1178 jcritchell@hrce.ca
Cole, Johanna Learning Centre Teacher jcole@hrce.ca
Cameron, Alexa Education Program Assistant 80% ext. 725-1178 alexa.cameron@hrce.ca
Brison, Karen Education Program Assistant ext. 725-1178 kbrison@hrce.ca
Borden, Mitchell African Nova Scotian Student Support Worker ext. 725-1234 mborden@hrce.ca
Bolivar, Wanda Library Technician ext. 725-1221 wbolivar@hrce.ca
Biolsi, Bill EAL Teacher bill.biolsi@hrce.ca
Battiste, Sherry SchoolsPlus Assistant Leader 902-471-2445 sherry.battiste@hrce.ca
Atkins-Stokes, Alyssa Mi'kmaq Indigenous Student Support Worker ext. 725-1267 aatkinsstokes@hrce.ca

Administration

Name Role / Department Phone Email Online
O'Leary, Dan Guidance Counsellor (Last names M-Z) 902-832-2300 ext. 725-1242 doleary@hrce.ca
O'Connor, Michelle Administrative Assistant ext. 7251000 michelle.oconnor@hrce.ca
MacIntyre, Norma Vice Principal Grade 6 and 8 902-832-2300 nmacintyre@hrce.ca
Lee, Dean Vice Principal Grade 7 and 9 902 832 2300 dlee@hrce.ca
Leblanc, David Principal 902-832-2300 dleblanc@hrce.ca
Hutchison, Judi Guidance Counsellor (Last names A-L) 902-832-2300 ext. 725-1238 jhutchison@hrce.ca
Hingston, Jennifer Administrative Assistant ext. 725-1000 jennifer.hingston@hrce.ca