Madeline Symonds Middle School

Staff Directory

To contact a staff member, please dial (902) 832-2300, plus the extension listed below

Communication between home and school is extremely important. Calls and emails sent to staff members will be returned within two business days.

Administration

Name Role / Department Phone Email Online
Leblanc, David Principal 902-832-2300 dleblanc@hrce.ca
Lee, Dean Vice Principal 902 832 2300 dlee@hrce.ca
MacIntyre, Norma Vice Principal 902-832-2300 nmacintyre@hrce.ca
Aikenhead-Bain, Shannon 50% Guidance Counsellor 902-832-2300 ext. 725-1242 saikenhead@hrce.ca
Brow, Trudy Office Administrator 100% ext. 725-1000 tbrow@hrce.ca
Hutchison, Judi Guidance Counsellor 902-832-2300 ext. 725-1238 jhutchison@hrce.ca
O'Connor, Michelle Office Administrator 100% ext. 7251000 michelle.oconnor@hrce.ca

Teaching Staff

Name Role / Department Phone Email Online
Binder, Karen Gr 9 English and Citizenship ext. 7251192 kbinder@hrce.ca Website
Twitter
Bobbitt, Jackie Gr 9 Math / Science / HL ext. 7251195 jbobbitt@hrce.ca
Chandler, Lesley Gr 7-9 Visual Arts ext. 725-1164 ChandlerL@hrce.ca Website
Colford, Meaghan Gr 8 FLA Gr 8 FI SS/HL ext. 725-1172 mcolford@hrce.ca Website
Comeau, Michael FI Gr 9 FLA/HLV/Citizenship ext. 725-1005 mcomeau@hrce.ca Website
Connors, Derrick Gr 6 Early French Immersion ext. 725-1006 dconnors@hrce.ca Website
Doucet, Dennis Gr 8 Math/Science Gr 6 PE ext. 725-1176 ddoucet@hrce.ca Website
Doucet, Heidi Grade 9 Citizenship / Healthy Living / Phys Ed 902-832-2300 hdoucet@hrce.ca
Gabriel, Carrie-Ellen Gr 9 French Immersion Math and Science / Gr 9 Core French ext. 725-1233 carrie-ellen.gabriel@hrce.ca
Gallant, Kora Lee Grade 8 FI Math / Science ext. 725-1186 kgallant@hrce.ca
Gilbert, Adam Grade 8 and 9 Phys Ed / Grade 8 SS / Grade 6 English adam.gilbert@hrce.ca
Gillis, Stephanie Grade 7/8 Core French ext. 725-1265 stephanie.gillis@hrce.ca
Hamblen, Angela 6-9 French Immersion Resource / 7-9 Math Support / Gr 9 Core French ext. 7251234 ahamblen@hrce.ca
Hare, Stephen Grade 8 FLA Gr 8 FI SS ext. 725-1185 share@hrce.ca Website
Hargreaves, Wendy Grade 6 ext. 725-1253 whargreaves@hrce.ca Website
Hickey, Trish Gr 7 Social Studies / Grade 8 English ext. 725-1255 Trish.Hickey@hrce.ca
Hobin, Bernadette Grade 7 Math / Science / HL ext. 725-1258 bhobin@hrce.ca
Horncastle, Susan Grade 8 ELA susan.horncastle@hrce.ca
KIdd, Tonya Gr 6-9 Instrumental Music ext. 725-1164 tkidd@hrce.ca Website
Landry, Matthew Grade 7-9 Technology Education ext. 725-1229 mlandry@hrce.ca Website
Twitter
Leader, Ali Grade 7 FLA/Mode de Vie/Grade 8 Sciences Humaines ext. 725-1173 Ali.Leader@hrce.ca Website
Leblanc, Line Gr 9 French Immersion Math and Mode de Vie / Gr 8 Sci / Gr 6 PE ext. 725-1261 leblancl@hrce.ca Website
Lerette, Tim Grade 7 English Language Arts and Social Studies ext. 725-1257 tlerette@hrce.ca Website
Leslie, Donni Gr 9 English and Citizenship ext. 725-1262 dleslie@hrce.ca
Lockyer, Kathleen Gr 6-7 Core French / 7-9 Phys Ed ext. 725-1129 KLockyer@hrce.ca
Luff, Michelle Gr 7 FI Math / Gr 7/8/9 FI Science ext. 725-1250 mluff@hrce.ca Website
MacDonald, Lindsey Grade 6 Teacher ext. 725-1007 lindsey.macdonald@hrce.ca Website
MacEwen, Rebecca Grade 6 Music RMacEwen@hrce.ca
MacNeil, Mona Grade 6-9 Physical Education ext. 725-1141 rmacneil@hrce.ca Website
Mahaney, Karen Grade 6 ext. 7251246 kmahaney@hrce.ca Website
Mahaney, Tom Grade 6-9 Physical Education ext. 725-1141 tmahaney@hrce.ca Website
Matheson, Lindsay Gr 7-8 French Immersion FLA and SS ext. 725-1192 Lindsay.Matheson@hrce.ca
Murray, Ken Grade 7 English Language Arts ext. 725-1175 murrayk@hrce.ca Website
O'Hearn, Peter Grade 9 Math / Science / Healthy Living 725-1264 POHearn@hrce.ca Website
Pardy, Brian Grade 7 Math / Science / Gr 8 Healthy Living ext. 725-1247 bpardy@hrce.ca Website
Ross, Steven Grade 7-8 French Immersion Math and Healthy Living ext. 725-1194 sross@hrce.ca
Sanford, Amanda Gr 8 Math and Science / Gr 9 Healthy Living ext. 725-1249 amanda.sanford@hrce.ca
Shaw, Beth Garde 7-9 Family Studies ext. 725-1129 bshaw@hrce.ca Website
St. Louis, Chasity Gr 9 FLA Gr 9 FI Citizenship/HL ext. 725-1229 cst.louis@hrce.ca

Support Staff

Name Role / Department Phone Email Online
Backer, Tara Education Program Assistant ext. 725-1178 tbacker@hrce.ca
Bolivar, Wanda Library Technician ext. 725-1221 wbolivar@hrce.ca
Borden, Mitchell African Nova Scotian Student Support Worker ext. 725-1234 mborden@hrce.ca
Brison, Karen Education Program Assistant ext. 725-1178 kbrison@hrce.ca
Cameron, Alexa Education Program Assistant 80% ext. 725-1178 alexa.cameron@hrce.ca
Dugandzic, Nicole Learning Centre Teacher 50% ndugandzic@hrce.ca
Edmunds, Renee Education Program Assistant 80% ext. 725-1178 REdmunds@hrce.ca
Fitzgerald, Erin Gr 6-8 English Resource ext. 725-1220 efitzgerald@hrce.ca
Forrest, Rebecca Educational Program Assistant 80% ext. 725-1178
Hart, Paul Educational Program Assistant 80% ext. 725-1178 PHart@hrce.ca
Hayre, Krishan School Psychologist KHayre@hrce.ca
Hulan, Sandra Mi'kmaq Indigenous Student Support Worker ext. 725-1267
Hynes, Deidre SLD Teacher ext. 725-1000 dhynes@hrce.ca
Johnston, Cheryl Educational Prograam Assistant cjohnston@hrce.ca
Nolasco, Dominic Educational Program Assistant dominic.nolasco@hrce.ca
Punshon, Elizabeth resource Teacher ext. 725-1178 EPunshon@hrce.ca
Stinson, Hayley School Mental Health Clinician - SchoolsPlus 902-864-8668 hayley.stinson@iwk.nshealth.ca
Tang, Amanda Education Program Assistant 80% ext. 752-1178 ctang@hrce.ca
Tate, Jennifer Speech Language Pathologist Jennifer.Tate@hrce.ca
Taylor, Siobhan Educational Program Assistant siobhan.taylor@hrce.ca
Turner, Vanessa Learning Center Teacher ext. 725-1178 VTurner@hrce.ca
Upshaw, Tyler School Social Worker 902-237-6943 tyler.upshaw@hrce.ca
Yazbek, Sonia EAL Teacher syazbek@hrce.ca