Madeline Symonds Middle School

Staff Directory

To contact a staff member, please dial (902) 832-2300, plus the extension listed below

Communication between home and school is extremely important. Calls and emails sent to staff members will be returned within two business days.

Administration

Name Role / Department Phone Email Online
Acorn, Kim Principal 902-832-2300 kacorn@hrce.ca
Lee, Dean Vice Principal 902 832 2300 dlee@hrce.ca
Meers, Valerie Vice Principal 902-832-2300 vmeers@hrce.ca
Hutchison, Judi Guidance Counsellor 902-832-2300 ext. 725-1238 jhutchison@hrce.ca
Morris, Sarah 50% Administrative Assistant ext. 725-1000
Mousseau, Jackie 20% Guidance Counsellor 902-832-2300 ext. 725-1238 JMousseau@hrce.ca
O'Connor, Michelle Office Administrator 100% ext. 7251000 michelle.oconnor@hrce.ca

Teaching Staff

Name Role / Department Phone Email Online
Aucoin, Laurie Gr 9 English and Social Studies / Gr 8 English ext. 725-1262 LAucoin@hrce.ca
Binder, Karen Gr 9 English and Social Studies ext. 7251192 kbinder@hrce.ca Website
Twitter
Bobbitt, Jackie Gr 9 Math and Science ext. 7251195 jbobbitt@hrce.ca
Chandler, Lesley Gr 7-9 Visual Arts / Gr 8 Healthy Living ext. 725-1164 ChandlerL@hrce.ca Website
Coldford, Meaghan Grade 7/8 Core French ext. 725-1265 mcolford@hrce.ca Website
Comeau, Michael Gr 6 Early French Immersion ext. 725-1005 mcomeau@hrce.ca Website
Connors, Derrick Gr 6 Early French Immersion ext. 725-1006 dconnors@hrce.ca Website
Doucet, Dennis Gr 8 Math/Science/6-8 PE ext. 725-1176 ddoucet@hrce.ca Website
Ernest, Jill Gr 8 English; Gr 8 Soc Studies ext. 725-1250 jernest@gnspes.ca Website
Fawthrop, Lara Gr 6-9 Music / Gr 7 Healthy Living ext. 725-1164 Lara.Fawthrop@hrce.ca Website
Gallant, Kora Lee Grade 8 French Immersion Math and Science ext. 725-1186 kgallant@hrce.ca
Hamblen, Angela 6-9 French Immersion Resource / 7-9 Math Support / 701 Core French ext. 7251234 ahamblen@hrce.ca
Hare, Stephen Grade 8 French Immersion Language Arts/Social Studies/Gr 9 Social Studies ext. 725-1185 share@hrce.ca Website
Hargreaves, Wendy Grade 6 ext. 725-1253 whargreaves@hrce.ca Website
Hickey, Trish Gr 7 Social Studies / Grade 8 English ext. 725-1255 Trish.Hickey@hrce.ca
Hobin, Bernadette Grade 7 Math and Science ext. 725-1258 bhobin@hrce.ca
Landry, Matthew Grade 7-9 Technology Education ext. 725-1229 mlandry@hrce.ca Website
Twitter
Leader, Ali Grade 7 FLA/Mode de Vie/Grade 8 Sciences Humaines ext. 725-1173 Ali.Leader@hrce.ca Website
LeBlanc, Amanda Gr 9 French Immersion Math and Science / Gr 9 Core French ext. 725-1233 amanda.leblanc@hrce.ca Website
Twitter
Leblanc, Line Gr 9 French Immersion Math and Mode de Vie / Gr 8 Sci / Gr 6 PE ext. 725-1261 leblancl@hrce.ca Website
Lerette, Tim Grade 7 English Language Arts and Social Studies ext. 725-1257 tlerette@hrce.ca Website
Lockyer, Kathleen Gr 6-7 Core French / 7-9 Phys Ed ext. 725-1129 KLockyer@hrce.ca
Luff, Michelle Gr 7 French Immersion Math / Science / Gr 8 Mode de Vie ext. 725-1172 mluff@hrce.ca Website
MacDonald, Lindsey Grade 6 Teacher ext. 725-1007 lindsey.macdonald@hrce.ca Website
MacEwen, Rebecca Grade 6 Music RMacEwen@hrce.ca
MacNeil, Mona Grade 6-9 Physical Education ext. 725-1141 rmacneil@hrce.ca Website
MacNeil, Nicole Gr 8 Math and Science / Gr 9 Healthy Living ext. 725-1249 Nicole.MacNeil@hrce.ca
Mahaney, Karen Grade 6 ext. 7251246 kmahaney@hrce.ca Website
Mahaney, Tom Grade 6-9 Physical Education ext. 725-1141 tmahaney@hrce.ca Website
Murray, Ken Grade 7 English Language Arts ext. 725-1175 murrayk@hrce.ca Website
O'Connor, Diane Gr 7-8 French Immersion FLA and SS ext. 725-1192 DOconnor@hrce.ca
O'Hearn, Peter Grade 9 Math / Science / Grade 8 Healthy Living 725-1264 pohearn@gnspes.ca Website
Pardy, Brian Grade 7 Math / Science / Gr 8 Healthy Living ext. 725-1247 bpardy@hrce.ca Website
Pluta, Sylvie Gr 9 French Immersion Language Arts and Social Studies ext. 725-1229 spluta@hrce.ca Website
Ross, Kristen Literacy Support/ELA/Social Studies/Healthy Living RossK@hrce.ca Website
Ross, Steven Grade 7-8 French Immersion Math and Healthy Living ext. 725-1194 sross@hrce.ca
Shaw, Beth Garde 7-9 Family Studies ext. 725-1129 bshaw@hrce.ca Website

Support Staff

Name Role / Department Phone Email Online
Bolivar, Wanda Library Technician ext. 725-1221 wbolivar@hrce.ca
Borden, Mitchell African Nova Scotian Student Support Worker ext. 725-1234 mborden@hrce.ca
Brison, Karen Education Program Assistant ext. 725-1178 kbrison@hrce.ca
Edmunds, Renee Education Program Assistant 80% ext. 725-1178 REdmunds@hrce.ca
Fitzgerald, Erin Gr 6-8 English Resource ext. 725-1220 efitzgerald@hrce.ca
Forrest, Rebecca Educational Program Assistant 80% ext. 725-1178
Hart, Paul Educational Program Assistant 80% ext. 725-1178 PHart@hrce.ca
Hennessey, Derrick Mi'kmaq/Aboriginal Student Support Worker ext. 725-1267 derrick.hennessey@hrce.ca
Hynes, Deidre SLD Teacher ext. 725-1000 dhynes@hrce.ca
McNab, Gillian Education Program Assistant 80% ext. 725-1178 gmcnab@hrce.ca
Punshon, Elizabeth 50% Learning Center / 50% Gr 9 English Resource ext. 725-1178 EPunshon@hrce.ca
Tang, Amanda Education Program Assistant 80% ext. 752-1178 ctang@hrce.ca
Tate, Jennifer Speech Language Pathologist Jennifer.Tate@hrce.ca
Trenaman, Michael Education Program Assistant ext. 725-1178 mtrenaman@hrce.ca
Turner, Vanessa Learning Center Teacher ext. 725-1178 VTurner@hrce.ca